410's useful?

Double barrel, side by side, over-under, semi-automatic, straight-pull and lever action shotguns.

410's useful?

Post by mickb » 28 May 2022, 3:34 pm

thoughts on the 410 shotgun fellas? useful or a novelty? My experience with them growing up was single shots as a shed gun for vermin, pigs in a trap, or even sharks pulled up to a boat. The advantage being you could pistol them one handed into tight spaces and being cheap as dirt didnt care if they got beat up, rusty or dropped overboard. Actually shotgunning/fowling I have no experience but I dont own a 12ga either.
mickb
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

Other

Re: 410's useful?

Post by No1Mk3 » 28 May 2022, 3:56 pm

You have already described many of the uses of the 410, then add it's use as a snake gun, training young people, use by peoploe with shoulder or back injuries who find even 20g too much. I knew a bloke whose wife, a very small woman, used an O/U 410 for trap and could keep pace with the rest of us and also took her bag of duck with it, not to mention the hares and rabbits. The fact it is still in production and selling when a lot of other gauges have fallen by the wayside suggests it is certainly useful for many shooters, Cheers.
No1Mk3
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Victoria

Post by bigpete » 28 May 2022, 4:40 pm

They are way more useful than people think,used within their limits.
bigpete
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by bladeracer » 28 May 2022, 5:16 pm

mickb wrote:thoughts on the 410 shotgun fellas? useful or a novelty? My experience with them growing up was single shots as a shed gun for vermin, pigs in a trap, or even sharks pulled up to a boat. The advantage being you could pistol them one handed into tight spaces and being cheap as dirt didnt care if they got beat up, rusty or dropped overboard. Actually shotgunning/fowling I have no experience but I dont own a 12ga either.

Worth doing a PtA and taking up room in the safe, no I don't think so :-)