Impact of shotgun barrel length

Double barrel, side by side, over-under, semi-automatic, straight-pull and lever action shotguns.

Impact of shotgun barrel length

Post by south » 29 Dec 2014, 1:06 pm

I have little experience with shotguns so this is just based on a bit of logical thinking....

You fire your shotgun... The shot travels down the barrel staying together as it's contained by the barrel... Once the shot reached the end of the barrel it drifts apart creating your pattern.

Also.. The shot is pretty free flowing down the barrel, it's not like a projectile gripped by rifling where too little powder will mean the bullet being slowed down before it reaches the muzzle and exits.

I can't really see what the change is with different barrel lengths? Whether the barrel is 20", 30", 40" etc... The shot travels down it together before drifting once it exits the muzzle. If that muzzle is 10" closer or further it doesn't seem to change much? Anything?
south
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Tasmania

Re: Impact of shotgun barrel length

Post by Oldbloke » 18 Jan 2015, 11:55 am

I think barrel length is more about handling and weight. Also it will change the way you sight the target I think, but other aspects of fit also effect sighting. You will lose a bit of velocity in 20" barrels but I doubt the average user would notice the reduction in real life. Perhaps check out the local library. Hope this helps.
The greatest invention in the history of man is beer.
https://youtu.be/2v3QrUvYj-Y
Member. SFFP, Shooters Union.
SSAA, the powerful gun lobby. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hunt safe.
Oldbloke
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by Gregg » 19 Jan 2015, 3:02 pm

Oldbloke wrote:I think barrel length is more about handling and weight.

I agree (we'll see who doesn't though :lol:)

30" gives you kind of lumbering, smooth swing which is favoured for sporting clays and trap. Helps with not overcompensating and jerking past subsequent clays as you move to the next target.