Stiff Action on a Shotgun

Double barrel, side by side, over-under, semi-automatic, straight-pull and lever action shotguns.

Stiff Action on a Shotgun

Post by Jmacca » 17 Aug 2016, 7:27 pm

G'day all, I have a question about an incredibly stiff action on a brand new Akkar Churchill Trap gun. I know it will probably be a bit stiff when new but it’s that hard to brake I almost need to open it over my knee and force it closed and I’m sure that’s not quite right and the foregrip is also very hard to remove and replace . Has anyone got an Akker with this issue or know of this problem and/or how to solve it, I am new to shotguns so any help will be very much appreciated.
Thanks in advanced.

Macca.
Jmacca
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Stiff Action on a Shotgun

Post by bigfellascott » 17 Aug 2016, 7:54 pm

Do you grease the hinge pins and other metal on metal surfaces? It's new so will be stiff for a while eventually they free up my beretta was a bit stiff but is getting better with use and since it was serviced by beretta is nicer again.
Last edited by bigfellascott on 17 Aug 2016, 10:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
bigfellascott
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

-

Post by Noisydad » 17 Aug 2016, 7:57 pm

My Lanber was the same.It'll be because the fore end is too tight against the action. I fixed mine by lightly relieveing it with a chainsaw grinder. Good as gold now.
There's still a few of Wile. E Coyote's ideas that I haven't tried yet.
Noisydad
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

Victoria

Post by brett1868 » 17 Aug 2016, 8:38 pm

Might just need a good clean to get all the factory protective grease off then oil appropriately. I've got an Akkar Churchill combo which was tight to begin with but loosened up nicely with use.
How's my posting?
Complaints, Concerns - 13 11 14
brett1868
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by bladeracer » 17 Aug 2016, 9:13 pm