Ammo for sports clay beginner

Calibres, cartridges, ballistics tables and ammunition information.

Ammo for sports clay beginner

Post by mrmef » 08 Jun 2020, 12:33 pm

Hi, just picked up a new 12 gauge akkar churchill 30" sporter.

Can you recommend me ammo for a beginner who just wants to practice sporting clays?

I will be shooting maybe two or three times a month.

Is 12 GAUGE, 7.5, 28 GRAM suitable for what I will be doing?

I'm a total beginner when it comes to firearms so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Feel free to recommend brands or even post a link of the ammo you recommend.

Thanks!
mrmef
Recruit
Recruit

Queensland

Re: Ammo for sports clay beginner

Post by Weepy » 08 Jun 2020, 12:39 pm

If you're anything like me when I started, ammo type won't matter.

You'll be spraying all over the place regardless :lol:

Seriously, though. Not my area of expertise. Will leave serious answers to others.
Weatherby Mark V Accumark 7mm Rem. Mag.
Leupold VX-3 4.5-14x40mm

Browning BL-22 .22LR
Weepy
Private
Private

Victoria

Post by mrmef » 08 Jun 2020, 12:49 pm

Weepy wrote:If you're anything like me when I started, ammo type won't matter.

You'll be spraying all over the place regardless :lol:

Seriously, though. Not my area of expertise. Will leave serious answers to others.

haha yeah I know what you mean

I just want to make sure I'm using the appropriate ammo for what I will be doing and not paying way more than I need to for just starting out and practicing.

I see some ammo is $100 for 250pcs and others are $200+ for 250pcs

Would this ammo be ok? https://shootersdelight.com.au/product/winchester-super-target-12ga-1290fps-7-5-2-3-4-inch-28gm-shotshell-250-pack/
mrmef
Recruit
Recruit

Queensland

Post by TassieTiger » 08 Jun 2020, 7:21 pm

That will work.
You can also get lower recoiling 7.5’s (24gn 1180fps) For starting out.
I’ll add, usually, Your local club will have a line on ammunition (ask around) and it will be cheaper than 99 % of shops.