Disappointed with Berger hunting VLD's

Calibres, cartridges, ballistics tables and ammunition information.

Disappointed with Berger hunting VLD's

Post by jackles » 21 Oct 2013, 2:06 pm

Hi all,

So I'm new to shooting and have been working my way through a few types of ammo in my .308 to find what works well, and done a little reloading with a mate.

Not to the stage of fine tuning loads let, but getting 1.5" - 2.5" groups with my current novice level skill.

Just for fun, I bought a pack of 185gr Berger's so I could shoot a heavy pill for the kick and Berger's have gotten a good wrap on other shooting forums and stuff I've read.

Putting them through my Rem 700 though, I got 7" - 8" groups on my first batch.

Hardly thorough testing I know, but disappointing compared to the few other groups I got and big write up the Berger's got :(
32-20 Winchester 9422
.22LR Remington Model 5
.308 Remington 700
Coming soon... 17HMR
jackles
Private
Private

Queensland

Re: Disappointed with Berger hunting VLD's

Post by Spooner » 21 Oct 2013, 3:30 pm

As you said, putting 1 load down range is hardly fair testing.

You'll see as you worth further into your loads and fine tune things, a few grains of powder here or there can make a group go from 1" to 5" no problems.
Spooner
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Northern Territory

Post by Rippah » 21 Oct 2013, 4:55 pm

More testing required...
Remington 700 CDL 35 Whelen
Zeiss Conquest 4.5-14x50
Remington Model 12 .22LR
CZ Ring neck 12G
Rippah
Private
Private

Queensland

Post by Carter » 21 Oct 2013, 8:37 pm

Rippah wrote:More testing required...

+1 for this.

Discounting a bullet after only 1 load is pointless. You could be missing out on a very accurate load that you'd find with more testing.
Carter
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Post by Wisey » 29 Oct 2013, 6:38 am

185gr is a big pill for a standard .308

Let us know how you go anyways
Wisey
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Post by jackles » 29 Oct 2013, 9:19 am