Eley alphamax+

Calibres, cartridges, ballistics tables and ammunition information.

Eley alphamax+

Post by Deacon » 17 Feb 2017, 2:08 pm

Picked up a box of these today on special. Anyone here used them? They are AAA shot which I've never used before but they can supposedly stop a pig (I'm a little skeptical on that)
Deacon
Private
Private

Australian Capital Territory

Re: Eley alphamax+

Post by crush » 24 Feb 2017, 12:53 pm

Their description of the ammo is weird....

Alphamax+ is a classic heavy game cartridge, traditionally used for fox control where rifles are not easy to use and close-up driven fox control is required.

Heavy game foxes? Huh :unknown:
crush
Recruit
Recruit

South Australia

Post by BBJ » 24 Feb 2017, 12:59 pm

Deacon wrote:They are AAA shot which I've never used before but they can supposedly stop a pig (I'm a little skeptical on that)

They'll smash a fox, but AAA pigs? No thanks!

I'd like to see the bloke that suggested that put his money where is mouth is and stand in front of an 80kg razorback with a cartridge full of shot :lol:
Weatherby Vanguard .223 Remington
Tikka T3 Varmint Stainless .243 Winchester
R.I.P. M1 Garand .30-06 Springfield

Leupold VX-R 4-12x40
BBJ
Corporal
Corporal

Northern Territory

Post by bigfellascott » 24 Feb 2017, 2:04 pm

I'd probably give em a run - soon see if they are up to it or not. :D

https://www.nioa.com.au/products/view/EA1236AAA
bigfellascott
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

-

Post by Pythonkeeper » 24 Feb 2017, 3:39 pm

I was recommended 21 pellet Diana buckshot for pigs over the 00/SG 9 pellet that I've used in the past, the jury is still out for me as far as using them for pigs as I haven't come across them with shotgun in hand, made a mess of a couple of foxes and a cat though.