Splined Pin @#$%

Improving and repairing firearms. Rifle bedding, barrel work, stock replacement and other ways to improve your firearms.

Splined Pin @#$%

Post by Wm.Traynor » 08 Apr 2020, 5:53 pm

The splined pin in my receiver will not budge with tapping, even when heat assisted. I could bodgie a support and press it out in the vice, assuming that it will come out :unknown: It's a lot of trouble given that I have never done it before. Not sure if the spline-end of the pin would not do some damage on the way out. The pin is the pivot for the trigger/sear, in my Mossberg 464 and all I wanted to do was lighten the trigger pull, which is 7 pounds.

What are your opinions please? The choices that I can think of are:-
1. Give it to a smith
2. Have a go myself.
3. Give up
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland

Re: Splined Pin @#$%

Post by Farmerpete » 08 Apr 2020, 8:42 pm

I think this is a question only you can answer.
How confident/competent mechanically are you?
Are you sure the pin should punch/press out?
Have you got access to an exploded view in parts/ maintenance manual?

If your confident you can do it I wouldn't recommend a Smith, most in oz are just fitter and Turners that specialize in guns, there's no formal qualifications. That being said occasionally you find a rare one who really knows his stuff.

I have never pulled a Mossberg trigger apart but I'll bet someone on YouTube has. Just be selective about the advice you take from there as anyone can post and none of it is fact checked. But at least you'll see how someone else broke their gun first.
Farmerpete
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by Wombat » 08 Apr 2020, 8:43 pm

Are you sure you are driving it in the correct direction? That is if they are directional.
Wombat
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by pomemax » 08 Apr 2020, 8:58 pm