Marlin 1895 feed issues

Improving and repairing firearms. Rifle bedding, barrel work, stock replacement and other ways to improve your firearms.

Marlin 1895 feed issues

Post by boingk » 21 Jun 2020, 1:17 pm

Hi guys,

I've recently got a new Marlin 1895GBL 45-70 lever gun and its giving me grief.

I took it to the range and managed to get a tube of PPU rounds off, but afetr a reload the second shot wouldn't budge out of the tube. I ended up going to loosen the bigger scre on the underside of the action, forward of the trigger group, and immediately the round pushed into place and was able to be cycled.

This tells me there is just a burr or something in the tube, possibly even that screw engaging a tad too far into its hole.

Has anyone else had anything like this happen?

Cheers.
Nil
boingk
Sergeant
Sergeant

Other

Re: Marlin 1895 feed issues

Post by Wm.Traynor » 21 Jun 2020, 2:42 pm

I'm not a Marlin expert but until one comes along you might want to disassemble that action and have a good look for crud/burrs/etc. That screw that you loosened is the key to beginning a strip-down and you could easily be right about a burr in the magazine tube.
Disassembly vids can be found on youtube.
BTW, if you are going to clean from the breech, you will need those youtube instructions.
Good Luck mate :thumbsup:
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland

Post by Wm.Traynor » 21 Jun 2020, 4:25 pm

And another thing.
My experience with failure to feed from a tube mag is that the mag follower had to be removed, cleaned and polished. The inside of the tube itself needed cleaning too.
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland

Post by Blr243 » 21 Jun 2020, 7:29 pm

There is a bloke on here that knows levers inside and out. He is a complete lever action nutter ...I think it’s in2anity if my memory serves me well ....send him a pm if he does not chime in soon or u don’t get it sorted
Blr243
Brigadier
Brigadier

Queensland