Are retail prices over the top?

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

Are retail prices over the top?

Post by mickyj » 19 May 2019, 7:51 am

I’m new to shooting. My feel has been over the last few months buying guns accessories and the like that compared to general goods hardware etc one can expect to pay roughly 2-3 times as much for shooting goods. Is there gauging going on? Is there government sales tax or import duty on these goods? I dunno. But some of the prices for things I have found hard to swallow at times. Would be keen to hear what people think on the matter.. one possibility that went through my mind is that because of the heavy regulatory environment that there is a lack of competition in the market thus high prices. Anyway Over to you.....
mickyj
Private
Private

New South Wales

Re: Are retail prices over the top?

Post by TassieTiger » 19 May 2019, 8:59 am

Examples??
Tikka .260 (Z5 5x25/52)
Steyr Pro Varmint .223 - VX 3
CZ455 .22 & Norinco .22 (vtex 4-12, bush 3-9)
ATA 686 U/O 12g & Baikal S/S 12g.
Adler a110 reddot
Sauer 30-06 - VX 3
Howa 300 win mag. SHV 5-20/56
Marlin SBL 45/70
TassieTiger
Colonel
Colonel

Tasmania

Post by SCJ429 » 19 May 2019, 9:43 am

Open a gunshop and find out how small your margins are.

Just not a huge market here like there is in the States to make the economies of scale work for us but we get things at a fair price. Look how much a Tikka is in the US and compare to the price in Australia and the shops here are very competitive.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by Member-Deleted » 19 May 2019, 11:59 am