Recoil or muzzle blast most off-putting

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

Recoil or muzzle blast most off-putting

Post by lowb » 05 Jun 2014, 11:38 am

G'day,

I'm pretty new to shooting. And doing my best to introduce a few friends to it too.

What to you guys find is most off-putting for new shoots? Recoil or muzzle blast?

I shot a .243 for the first time on the weekend and was more surprised by it than when I shot a .308 for the first time.

Not as much recoil, but much more blast.

A bloke at the range was nice enough to give me a go on his. Self described 'hot' loads so I'm sure that was something, but man it was noisy.

Startled me to be honest :lol:
lowb
Recruit
Recruit

Western Australia

Re: Recoil or muzzle blast most off-putting

Post by Baldrick314 » 05 Jun 2014, 12:14 pm

I think 243 is horrible for this reason, big bark for a medium calibre and huge muzzle blast.

For me it's definitely the muzzle blast that's more off putting but more so from someone else's rifle than the one I'm shooting
.177, .22lr, .22-250R, 2x .308W, .30-30W, 7.62x54r, 8x56r, 9x19, .357 Mag, 12GA
Baldrick314
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

New South Wales

Post by Eduardo » 05 Jun 2014, 12:20 pm

In my limited experience I find that different people respond differently to shooting.

What I try to do when I'm introducing others to the sport is to diversify. People that are new to the sport couldn't care less about making a tight group on paper even though it is a life long pursuit to others.

Interactive targets seem to have the widest appeal. Shooting something that lets you know it's been hit seems to get the best reaction in my experience.

My range has gongs on it which I enjoy shooting. Moving targets like shooting trap are a good next step. But either way, don't assume that the way you enjoy shooting is the way others will enjoy it.

Be prepared to diversify, show them various angles to enjoying the sport.