bore snakes

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

bore snakes

Post by 83neil » 02 Dec 2015, 8:46 pm

im new at guns so doing some research on how to clean them for best results.
ive read that you should never pull a patch back thru the bore as its now contaminated!
why is pulling a snake multiple times different to a patch?
83neil
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: bore snakes

Post by AusTac » 02 Dec 2015, 9:06 pm

Its not, the bore snake still contains all the contaminates that you would get on a patch, people that use bore snakes usually have the " its just a little carbon it won't harm the bore " kinda attitude but each to their own, my personal point of view is over time a snake will wear away the bore ( over many many passes ) and possibly the muzzle if not pulled out straight that said if yoy wash it and don't pull it through to dirty, she'll be right

They can be perticularly usefull on firearms where its difficult to get into the bore in a straight line, eg semi's and lever actions

Have you looked at " otis " kits? Eaither brand name or not they are a similar concept
Certified part time hillbilly
AusTac
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

-

Post by sandgroperbill » 03 Dec 2015, 1:51 am

Bore snakes are handy in the field while hunting, in case you get dirt in the bore somehow. Personally, I carry one in a pouch on my butt, but don't really use it. As for cleaning regimes, you'll find no end of opinions on the best way to clean. Each to their own I say.
sandgroperbill
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

Western Australia

Post by on_one_wheel » 03 Dec 2015, 3:58 am

I find bore snakes blody handy but i don't use them for cleaning after a shoot.

I always carry them hunting incase I manage to stuff the barrel into the sand or dirt.

I also use them to clean out the oil from storage before a shoot because it's done in seconds.