legal noise suppression

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

legal noise suppression

Post by on_one_wheel » 20 Sep 2016, 4:32 pm

Just found this picture it alone says one thousand words. :thumbsup:

FB_IMG_1474352776055.jpg
FB_IMG_1474352776055.jpg (36.38 KiB) Viewed 6221 times

Looks like a 205L plastic drum lined with dimpled foam.
Surely a bunch of these would be nice at the range.

Not being attached to the rifle would mean that it's perfectly legal.
Gun control requires concentration and a steady hand
on_one_wheel
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Re: legal noise suppression

Post by Supaduke » 20 Sep 2016, 4:47 pm

I think it would certainly take the edge off a muzzle brake for your neighbouring shooters. Would reduce the concussive effect of shooting, I have my doubts how much noise it would actually reduce though.......but I'm no acoustic engineer
Supaduke
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

Victoria

Post by deadkitty » 20 Sep 2016, 8:18 pm

Anyone know if these things work?, if they do, my neighbors will love me!.
When you are dead, you don't know you are dead, it's only difficult for the others,
it's the same when you are stupid.
deadkitty
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

New South Wales

Post by AusTac » 20 Sep 2016, 9:00 pm

Supaduke wrote:I think it would certainly take the edge off a muzzle brake for your neighbouring shooters. Would reduce the concussive effect of shooting, I have my doubts how much noise it would actually reduce though.......but I'm no acoustic engineer

Or blow the thing apart :p
Certified part time hillbilly
AusTac
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

-

Post by brett1868 » 20 Sep 2016, 11:36 pm

Clever idea, couldn't hurt to try it out I guess as I've got the foam, just need to find a drum.
How's my posting?
Complaints, Concerns - 13 11 14
brett1868
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by Apollo » 21 Sep 2016, 12:28 am