Caldwell Matrix or MTM shooting rest

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

Caldwell Matrix or MTM shooting rest

Post by pete1 » 14 Oct 2016, 8:51 pm

Thinking of buying a shooting rest, was gunna make one, but don't have the time.

I want to use it for sighting in rifles (got one sighted in at 50m, but want it sighted further) and will probably lend it to a mate when he buys his new rifle. I will probably use it for cleaning as well.

was looking at Caldwell Matrix and MTM shooting rest, anyone used these or got any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.
22LR
12G
12G
12G
pete1
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Re: shooting rest.

Post by Rifle realist » 14 Oct 2016, 9:39 pm

Hi Pere
I am not an expert, I have a Caldwell rock Br & it does every thing I need. I did have one of the MTM plastic rests, it was better than nothing but I found it too light. I know there are much better quality rests, you would need to talk to some of the bench rest guys though.
Sako quad .22 WMR 3-9X40 Leupold VXI
Anchutz 1430-1434 .22 Hornet 4 X 40 Bushnell
Sako 85 Varmint .260 Rem 4.5-14X50 Leupold VXIII
Sako 85 Hunter .338 Win Mag 3.5-10X40 Leupold VXIII
Marlin 1895 45/70
Assorted .22s & Shotguns
Rifle realist
Private
Private

Western Australia

Post by Atter » 19 Oct 2016, 10:50 am

Personally I find the fixed front and rear rests an epic pain to use.

Any left/right adjustment is stupidly awkward.

Something like Caldwell Rock Jnr for the front and a back for the rest is much better to shoot from in general, not just for sighting in, and you can use them to rest the rifle when cleaning it too.
Tikka T3 Hunter .260 Remington
Tikka T3 Sporter 6.5x55 SE
CZ 513 .22LR
Atter
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Victoria

Re: Caldwell Matrix or MTM shooting rest

Post by bigfellascott » 19 Oct 2016, 3:46 pm