Best meat from a big animal... Deer, pig, whatever...

Game hunting and large prey. Deer stalking, hunting with hounds. Boar, pigs etc., large prey, culling, hunting large feral animals.

Best meat from a big animal... Deer, pig, whatever...

Post by sooey » 28 Feb 2014, 11:42 am

G'day,

Forgetting hunting for rabbits or whatever small critters where you've got to eat the whole thing for a meal, but for big stuff that's going to fill a freezer what do you guys think are the best cuts?

Seems a lot of guys when deer hunting and others too just take the 4 legs, but I reckon that's missing out of heaps. I'm not an expert butcher by any means, but I've had plenty of good meals cooked with the saddle, or shoulder etc. Bits guys usually don't take.

What do you reckon the best cut is?
Remington 700 CDL chambered in .270 Winchester
Remington 700 CDL chambered in 300 Win Mag
4-16x 40mm Bushnell Elite scopes
sooey
Private
Private

Queensland

Re: Best meat from a big animal... Deer, pig, whatever...

Post by Member-Deleted » 28 Feb 2014, 12:02 pm

Fallow backstraps
Member-Deleted

Post by Brute » 28 Feb 2014, 12:34 pm

I'd have to cast my vote for pork shoulder.

Slow roast pork shoulder with tomatoes and spices, perfecto.
The Hammer of Dawn
Brute
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Victoria

Post by ebr love » 28 Feb 2014, 12:39 pm

How you cook it is the trick to making it all equally good I reckon.

There's fillet steak or rump, but cooked well either is just as tasty and satisfying.

IMO.
TIKKA T3 TAC .300 WIN MAG
HOW SPORTER 270 WIN
HOWA YOUTH .204 RUGER
MARLIN 1889 .38-40
ebr love
Corporal
Corporal

New South Wales

Post by Chronos » 28 Feb 2014, 1:04 pm

The idea of only taking such a small percentage of any animal shot for meat doesn't sit well with me. Shooting a 100kg deer and only taking 3-4kg of back straps strikes me as a terrible waste of meat. Sure some animals and some cuts may not make the best eating but it makes sense to use as much of the meat as you can.