9.3x62mm "the perfect deer round"

Game hunting and large prey. Deer stalking, hunting with hounds. Boar, pigs etc., large prey, culling, hunting large feral animals.

9.3x62mm "the perfect deer round"

Post by mikor » 28 Apr 2014, 7:29 pm

G'day guys,

I'm new to shooting at looking at getting a hunting rifle for hunting in Victoria.

Everything up to Sambar deer of course.

I have the opportunity to buy a second hand Sako in 9.3x62mm from a mate. My worry is honestly that this is a bit too much gun for me.

I've been to my local gun store too and asked about this, the guy was happy to show me .308's and that kind of stuff but did say he thought the 9.3x62mm was "the perfect deer round".

What do you guys think? I know minimum legal calibre is a lot smaller, but I want to hunt humanely too as I'm sure we all do.

What do you think of the 9.3x62mm vs some smaller more gentle recoil calibres?

Many thanks.
M
mikor
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: 9.3x62mm "the perfect deer round"

Post by Michael63 » 28 Apr 2014, 8:16 pm

Sounds like your worried about recoil of this Sako already.

Go for something smaller like a .308 etc. and enjoy shooting it.

Bullet placement is more important than size.
Michael63
Recruit
Recruit

Tasmania

Post by headspace » 28 Apr 2014, 9:11 pm

Mate I think the 9.3 is a bit over gunned for Deer, even Sambah.

A 308 with 168gn Sierra Game Kings or Nosler Partition bullets would do the job. You could go up to a 30-06 if you want just a little more knock down power.

I've been investigating the idea of the 9.3 but I was going to use it on Buffalo. The recoil is in the order of 36.5ft/lb.

JD.
If it's not wood and blued steel, it's not one of mine
headspace
Sergeant
Sergeant

New South Wales

Post by Chronos » 28 Apr 2014, 10:37 pm

Sounds like your local gun salesman has one he's not keen to shoot again.