Scouting a state forest

Game hunting and large prey. Deer stalking, hunting with hounds. Boar, pigs etc., large prey, culling, hunting large feral animals.

Scouting a state forest

Post by Member-Deleted » 22 Apr 2015, 5:38 pm

Hey guys, i am very new to hunting (have posted on here a couple times regarding newbie advice) and just wanted to know a bit more about scouting a state forest. I am going on my first ever hunting trip with some very experienced blokes on private property in the next few weeks , then a couple weeks after that me and a friend (new to hunting, never been before) want to go to a state forest and see if we can get some ferals (mainly after rabbits and foxes).

Now i have been to state forests before (camping and short hikes) but just want some more information on scouting in them. First off i have narrowed it down to 3 forests within reasonable distance (friend has time constraints). So the three are Mt Dissapointment SF, Wombat SF, and Talarook SF. I have a 2wd so i will be limited in terms of driving access, but i dont mind hiking at all and since im scouting first i dont mind walking for hours. I also have a GPS with shonkymaps loaded and will purchase some hard maps from a map shop. Is there anything missing in terms of navigation? Also any tips for entry would be greatly appreciated (not looking for specfic hunting spots or locations, just entry points and which forest is generally easier to navigate on foot). Looking forward to doing the hard yards scouting then coming back with my rifle and putting in some work! Cheers guys
Member-Deleted

Re: Scouting a state forest

Post by bosi72 » 23 Apr 2015, 12:06 am

I use Hema maps (android) which allows me to download Google earth maps at any resolution I want, and use them offline (no phine reception in the bush).
I also suggest downloading and printing hunting maps from:

http://www.gma.vic.gov.au/hunting/deer/ ... n-victoria