Removing wild Deer semi protected status.

Game hunting and large prey. Deer stalking, hunting with hounds. Boar, pigs etc., large prey, culling, hunting large feral animals.

Removing wild Deer semi protected status.

Post by MalleeFarmer » 16 Apr 2017, 10:02 am

What is your stance on this as a hunter and shooter or landholder? http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/na ... 1df9e5c985
As a Farmer I don't think deer should be protected at all via hunting seasons etc. but should still come under some sort of regulation via hunting permits or licences maintaining the caliber restrictions etc. But I think farmers should be able to cull introduced vermin as they see fit when they see fit on their own property.
"Agriculture is our wisest pursuit, because it will in the end contribute most to real wealth, good morals and happiness." Thomas Jefferson
MalleeFarmer
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Re: Removing wild Deer semi protected status.

Post by Supaduke » 16 Apr 2017, 11:16 am

Can't read it, can you copy and paste the article?
Supaduke
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

Victoria

Post by on_one_wheel » 16 Apr 2017, 11:34 am

I totally agree with you. Deer or any other introduced animal should not be protected in any way.

It makes no sense at all.

But I think that hunting permits should only apply with native animals to enable control of how many animals get destroyed and to allow sustainable harvesting of animals such as ducks and roos.
Gun control requires concentration and a steady hand
on_one_wheel
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by p3seven » 16 Apr 2017, 12:20 pm

I think the trophy nuts want to protect the herd for their own benefit at landowners (both government and private) expense. Deer degrade the environment and should be shot out . No seasons, no sex or size discrimination. Spotlighting allowed.
Henry 22lr
Savage ll BTVS 22lr
Howa 1500 243 W
p3seven
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Post by juststarting » 16 Apr 2017, 12:22 pm