Barrel accuracy odd occurrence

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Barrel accuracy odd occurrence

Post by bigrich » 16 Sep 2018, 12:33 pm

hey all, got a odd occurrence i want some opinions on. my old 222 Winchester shot some reloads this morning, the first 8-9 rounds were about a 1 1/2 " at 100, after that the same reloads were making one ragged hole groups at 100. this is a regular occurrence with this rifle. i can only conclude that the bore must be a bit sad and it needs a bit of copper fouling to tighten it back up. might just nylon brush the powder out and swab it without any bore solvent and see how it goes straight up next time . opinions anyone ? :unknown: :thumbsup:
bigrich
Brigadier
Brigadier

Queensland

Re: barrel accuracy

Post by Stix » 16 Sep 2018, 1:40 pm

Im no expert mate, but my thoughts generally are that im not one who is keen to leave copper in a barrel for too long...
Copper eats steel.

But then i dont know what would wear out your barrel first...
8-9 wasted rounds every time you use it, or leaving copper in the barrel... :unknown:

I know heat usually makes groups wander & increase in size, but are you sure its not heat related...?
(Im not sure how you shoot it--whats your shooting regime...?...4 shot groups with total barrel cool in between, or you just bang away at random on a warm/hot barrel...?)

Maybe try some ordinary/different batch of brass charged with reduced loads of trailboss & the cheapest bullets you can get.

Fire 10 of them on a clean barrel then shoot your normal loads & see if the reduced loads have the same (fouling) effect on accuracy. :unknown:

If that works it shouldnt hurt your barrel & you can keep it clean. :thumbsup:
The man who knows everything, doesnt really know everything...he's just stopped learning...
Stix
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by duncan61 » 16 Sep 2018, 2:09 pm