Hunting - Targetting crossover rifle

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Hunting - Targetting crossover rifle

Post by Vicko » 19 Aug 2019, 7:51 am

Tried to post this the other day but it didnt go up for some reason.

Target noob here. Never done any kind of long range stuff but keen to try. But I can't justify a target only setup at this point, so I'm looking at purchasing a that I can also use for longer range hunting which will mostly be foxes out past 250. I have other options for inside that. And this doesn't need to be a stalking rifle as I have a light stocked 30-06 on the way.

I got along to a local range for a look on the weekend and saw a fella with a brand new Howa chassis setup shooting a good grouping at 300.

So I'm after some recommendations. I know it'll be a compromise, but I'm not looking to make the Aussie squad...

Had been looking at more traditional looking rigs for longer range stuff like the Ruger Hawkeye Varmint Target (I do like a grey laminate stock), or Hawkeye FTW Hunter, or even the Ruger Hawkeye Long Range Target or Browning X Bolt Max Long Range (neither of the speckle paint stocks do anything for me though..), but its been pointed out that I should also be considering the Lithgow 102 or even 105 Woomera. I'm assuming the 105 would be a better option than the 102. At which point things like the Howa chassis or Ruger Precision rifles etc should probably also be considered. I'd never previously considered chassis rifles as I prefer the look of traditional shaped stocks but I'm probably open to them if they're significantly more accurate.

And then I did come across the new chapter 23 rule for sporting/hunting rifles that I'd want to fall into: http://www.nraa.com.au/wp-content/uploa ... l-2019.pdf