How do you choose a club?

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

How do you choose a club?

Post by djmm » 17 Dec 2020, 3:30 pm

Hi there,

Newbie here (and to guns). I'm interested in doing target shooting with pistols and being in NSW, we have a few shooting range (and clubs) available. Just wondering, since I can't really see what each club does and how many days they are allocated at range, how do you guys usually decide which club to join or which range to go?

Do you choose the range you like then enquire about the clubs? Cheers.
djmm
Private
Private

New South Wales

Re: How do you choose a club?

Post by Bugman » 18 Dec 2020, 12:40 pm

I can tell you, that under present conditions, very few, if any, pistol clubs are undertaking new membership in the Sydney basin.
Bugman
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

New South Wales

Post by rc42 » 18 Dec 2020, 2:28 pm

Clubs often specialize in particular disciplines, some of which are limited by their ranges and facilities (for example not many offer 200m metallic silhouette) so that may be a factor for you.
Their calendar of matches should be available online, if not call or email and ask for a copy, this will show you which clubs have matches in disciplines that interest you at times that suit you, plus you can get a feel for how busy the club is from the number of events and hours for practice sessions.

The ease of getting to the club may also be a factor if they are otherwise similar, but you can join more than one or move between them so no need to over think your decision.
rc42
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Queensland

Post by djmm » 18 Dec 2020, 6:49 pm

Okay thanks for the tips. So I guess apart from style, time table should play really important part then, ie. If they only shoot on weekends and I can't do many weekends then better choose the ones on weekdays?
djmm
Private
Private

New South Wales