Easing into target shooting - North West Sydney

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Easing into target shooting - North West Sydney

Post by Don_Stevenson » 09 Aug 2021, 9:47 am

Hi Everyone,

New to the forum but not entirely new to shooting although its been a long time since I had a licence.

A couple of months ago I organised a "try shooting" session for my wife and I at St Mary's SSAA range as my wife had never shot before.

She had a great time and produced some very respectable groups for a complete beginner shooting with a 223, 357 mag lever action and 303.

So, she's now agreed that we can investigate shooting more regularly as a couples activity. As much as I'd be tempted to buy matching Sako M10s and compete in long range comps etc we have kids, jobs etc and making this thing too big is going to mean it falls over pretty quick.

My question is, if you were looking to start out in rifle shooting in Sydney's North West (we live in the Hills/Parramatta area). What would be the lowest friction way to start? Is it feasible/allowed to start by becoming members of SSAA and just doing the licence course and range attendances at St Mary's, Silverdale and Hornsby before choosing a club and doing some comps or is there a requirement to do a certain number of comps per year? ( I'm going off my pistol licence from 10 years ago).

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Don_Stevenson
Private
Private

New South Wales

Re: Easing into target shooting - North West Sydney

Post by pomemax » 09 Aug 2021, 12:56 pm

You become a member at St Mary,s your wife becomes a member as a family member via you its cheaper and she gets cheaper range attendances .
As well once you are members book in to do you safety course .