Question about ranges and muzzle brakes

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Question about ranges and muzzle brakes

Post by AussieTimmeh » 07 May 2014, 7:40 pm

Hi all,

My name is Tim, I'm new to the forum and I'm just getting into rifles. I've got my license and am an SSAA member as well. I also have a letter of permission to shoot on a property with a friend who also shoots with me. All my shooting has been done on his property so far and I'd like to try attending a range.

My brother and I have the desire to get into longer distance shooting and own a couple of Savage rifles. One is a little .22LR for practice and the other is a Model 10 BAT/S .308Win for longer range fun.

I understand that tactical looking rifles is not what many people are into and that's ok.

I have a question regarding an issue that is causing me concern. I would like to attend shooting ranges for practice, to make new friends, and to learn a bit more about the skills involved. I don't plan to enter competitions or F-class or any of that, I would just like to be able to shoot on an actual range that covers a long distance.

Our Savage Model 10 BAT/S has muzzle brake fitted from factory and it does not remove easily at all. I have read on the F class forum that you are not allowed to bring a rifle with a muzzle brake onto NRAA ranges. I don't know what constitutes an NRAA range. I would like to just turn up to my local range and shoot the rifle there without having to remove the muzzle brake and risk damaging it.

I have emailed my closest range about this issue to see if this rule applies to them and they have not replied yet. Is this muzzle brake rule a standard thing? Am I unable to attend ranges with this rifle? It seems odd to exclude rifles with muzzle brakes when they are perfectly legal.