Where are my rounds going?

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Where are my rounds going?

Post by fenderstrat » 29 Mar 2015, 12:58 pm

Hey guys, I'm still pretty new to shooting and I'm trying to figure out what happened. Ok, so I took my new rifle to the range yesterday, Its a K98 Mauser, refurbished by the James River Company in america, rebarreled for .308 W. So I started slow, first at 25m, and everything seemed fine, good groups, about 3 in high, so i moved on to 50 and still pretty good, about 6 in high this time. Then I moved to 100m and.... nothing. I fired 2 groups of 5 shots with nothing to show for it, the targets were intact. After that I tried shooting a little bit below the target, as well as a bit above, and still nothing.

So where are my rounds going? The logic would indicate that my shots would be 12 in high at 100m, would that be the case? I'm no expert, but I always thought that the farther away you would shoot, the more bullet drop you get. So yeah, I'm confused right now.... help?
fenderstrat
Private
Private

Queensland

Re: Where are my rounds going?

Post by KWhorenet » 29 Mar 2015, 1:05 pm

try a bigger target :D
KWhorenet
Sergeant
Sergeant

-

Post by Chronos » 29 Mar 2015, 1:33 pm

if you were 6" high at 50m then you went to 100m your trajectory would have been over 12" high and probably off target

give it about 11.75 moa clicks down and that will be roughly a 100m zero but i'd come down about 10 moa for a zero that puts you nearly 2" high at 100 and give you a MPBR of about 262m

(calcs done using a 150gr factory load at 2820fps)

Chronos
Chronos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

New South Wales

Post by bigfellascott » 29 Mar 2015, 2:10 pm