WA Perth Rifle Ranges

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

WA Perth Rifle Ranges

Post by starscream » 17 Jul 2015, 8:10 pm

Hi, i've been interested in getting into the sport of shooting for quite a long time now and i would love to join a rifle club. I have zero experience with firearms and i was hoping that maybe you guys could recommend me a club to join in the Perth region. I want to shoot centerfire rifles using a bipod or rest with targets at least 600 yards away as id love to be able to shoot long ranges and not be limited to only short distances. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
starscream
Recruit
Recruit

Western Australia

Re: WA Perth Rifle Ranges

Post by North East » 17 Jul 2015, 9:25 pm

Stick to 100 meters for a while mate....600 meters is a different ball game.
Browning BL-22 lever action...open sights
T3 Varmint .204 Ruger...Meopta Meostar 4-16X44
T3 Lite .30-06 Sprg...Aimpoint Hunter 1X red dot

....that will do me
North East
Sergeant
Sergeant

Victoria

Post by brett1868 » 18 Jul 2015, 12:13 am

Congratulations on making the decision to get involved in the sport and a good first step would be to join the local SSAA http://www.ssaawa.org.au/. SSAA membership should be sufficient to support your "Genuine Reason" for requiring a firearms license, and they should also be able to provide you a list of approved clubs and ranges. Another association is the NRA https://www.nraa.com.au/associations-clubs/ and he link provides a list of clubs in Australia. SSAA / NRA is a bit like the Holden Vrs Ford debate in that both have their fans and detractors, check them both out and make an informed decision on which may suit your needs and beliefs best.