Ranged shooting

Target shooting and range information. Competitive shooting, ranges, competitions, clubs and events. Free shooting targets.

Ranged shooting

Post by LTneo » 08 Jul 2018, 4:59 pm

He all. Im new to shooting but getting into it for the joy of ranged target shooting. I currently have to rifles. a Marlin XT .22 and a Howa 1500 .223
I'm looking to work my way to a distance of between 500-700 yards and would appreciate any advise. i have got both sighted to 100 yards. im not perfect yet and not going to move back till i can hit the target dead center every time. But as i said. looking for any advise that i can get in regards to accuracy, tips and tricks people have picked up over the years and also good places to shoot. I'm in gippsland in Victoria, i can sometime's shot at my parents farm but looking for somewhere else i can shoot. again, thanks for any advise
LTneo
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Ranged shooting

Post by Stix » 08 Jul 2018, 6:56 pm

Only advice i have is if you want to shoot at 500-700 yds, id be practicing further than 100...!! As soon as you can print 3 shots in an inch at 100.
Push out to at least 200 for regular practice...if not 300...and dabble at 400...

Things get a little different beyond 100, so make the most out of your ammo...

But if you can shoot an inch at 100, id give 200-300 a crack..
The man who knows everything, doesnt really know everything...he's just stopped learning...
Stix
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by Wm.Traynor » 08 Jul 2018, 6:58 pm

The VRA will let you shoot at long range; 300 to 1000 yards. But whether or not your 223 is suitable is another matter. To be competitive with it would require the 80 grain bullets and that requires a 1:7.5 twist. For longer than 7/800, you need a 30 inch barrel to develop velocities that are above the speed of sound, At The Target. Contact the VRA for your nearest Fullbore range and Good Luck :) :thumbsup:
Wm.Traynor
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Queensland