Long range is all the rage. Rimfire shooting is cheap.

Rimfire bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action and self loading rifles. Air rifles.

Long range is all the rage. Rimfire shooting is cheap.

Post by wildcard6 » 20 Jul 2018, 2:12 pm

I've been working for a few months on a new shoot that will combine rimfire benchrest shooting and long range metallic silhouette shooting. Here's a link to the Youtube video I made of my early work on it. There are still a few hurdles to jump before it's accepted at my club, but it's getting close. I never seem to get tired of knocking down steel targets, but the longer the range, the bigger the rush when you do!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOKgfLnLimg

The original concept was for just 300-yard shooting, but I've come up with a multi-range format that will have steel targets at 100m, 200m and 300 yds. Surprisingly, it's not that hard to get a aiming solution at 300yds with either HV or SV ammo, although the holdover is less with HV, which also comes in handy for hitting power. In the video, I thought I missed five times in the first run, but it was a freshly painted target and there are two hits in the final still shot. Anybody interested should contact SSAA Para range and ask for Pat.
wildcard6
Private
Private

South Australia

Re: Long range is all the rage. Rimfire shooting is cheap.

Post by bladeracer » 20 Jul 2018, 3:57 pm

wildcard6 wrote:I've been working for a few months on a new shoot that will combine rimfire benchrest shooting and long range metallic silhouette shooting. Here's a link to the Youtube video I made of my early work on it. There are still a few hurdles to jump before it's accepted at my club, but it's getting close. I never seem to get tired of knocking down steel targets, but the longer the range, the bigger the rush when you do!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOKgfLnLimg