Centrefire VS Cheap Scope

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Centrefire VS Cheap Scope

Post by 2freeq » 01 Aug 2018, 9:10 pm

So i'm very new to all this and i impulse brought a cheap scope. It's a BSA Quarry King 6-24 x 56 with the intentions of putting it on my next rifle. Problem is i have been looking at getting a .270 and it was mentioned to me on facebook that the scope will not hold up to a .270 and the recoil will damage it quickly. Is this true? It was cheap so i'm not losing too much but thought i'd check here if you think it's even worth mounting on the .270.
Howa 1500 .223
Marlin XT22SR .22LR
Lithgow .22LR
EMEI Chinese side lever .117 Air Rifle
2freeq
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

New South Wales

Re: Centrefire VS Cheap Scope

Post by tom604 » 01 Aug 2018, 9:14 pm

recoil can kill scopes but as you say it was cheap so why not,you never know it could last for years :thumbsup:
tom604
Warrant Officer C2
Warrant Officer C2

South Australia

Post by ponkychonk » 01 Aug 2018, 9:34 pm

Dunno about that scope, but putting a s**ty optic on anything above a .22 is a crime in my books
ponkychonk
Private
Private

Other

Post by Gaznazdiak » 01 Aug 2018, 9:37 pm

The BSA Quarry King is air rifle rated so, I imagine, it shouldn't be bothered by the .270.

http://www.airgunbbs.com/showthread.php ... uarry-king
fideles usque ad mortem
Gaznazdiak
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

New South Wales

Post by 2freeq » 01 Aug 2018, 9:45 pm

Thanks for the replies. I guess we will see what happens.
Howa 1500 .223
Marlin XT22SR .22LR
Lithgow .22LR
2freeq
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

New South Wales

Post by Bigjobss » 01 Aug 2018, 9:57 pm

Dont cheap out on optics.
Bigjobss

Post by marksman » 01 Aug 2018, 10:43 pm

air rifle rated should hold up to a 270 but may not be good enough to hold zero :unknown:
you already have it, give it a go, you may be surprised :thumbsup: