Recoil help

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Recoil help

Post by sickooli » 02 Dec 2018, 1:23 pm

Hi everyone, hope you are all well, my buddy just bought a 300winmag, Sako Bavarian very nice rifle with a Swarovski Scope. He gave me a go at shooting it on a target and the scope just missed my eyebrow, I therefore s$&?t myself and didn’t shoot anymore, my questions are; 1.do you hold your breath when squeezing the trigger?.2.do you with your lower three fingers keep pressure toward your shoulder etc, as you can probably tell I’m new at this and any help/advice would be greatly appreciated, best regards Tom, and please take care.
sickooli
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Recoil help

Post by Daddybang » 02 Dec 2018, 2:54 pm

I like to keep good contact with the shoulder(without jamming the butt in) and letting the shoulder relax so it "absorbs" the recoil rather than "stopping" it. If that makes sense :drinks:
This hard living ain't as easy as it used to be!!!
Daddybang
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Queensland

Post by JimTom » 02 Dec 2018, 3:17 pm

Tuck it in and hang on mate. It may feel like being booted by a mule now but you will get used to it with experience. A 300WM is a lot of rifle if you are new to shooting.
JimTom
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Queensland

Post by Gaznazdiak » 02 Dec 2018, 3:37 pm

Don't want to be the dog in the manger Tom, but do we take it from this post that you have somehow got past your domestic violence issues?
fideles usque ad mortem
Gaznazdiak
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

New South Wales

Post by marksman » 02 Dec 2018, 5:53 pm

you will find that different loads will recoil differently with a 300wm,
I find the heavier projectile loads push instead of punch because of the different powder used
hang onto the fore end tightly, dont stop breathing, calm breaths squeezing the trigger,