Floated barrel claims all wrong...

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Floated barrel claims all wrong...

Post by loopal » 30 Jan 2014, 6:53 pm

I dunno if I just got a few dud runs today, you're guys experience can tell me.

I was at the LGS today looking at a bunch of rifles.

I looked at a Sako A7, Anschutz 22 and Ruger which all claim to have floated barrel... None of them did.

The Anschutz and Ruger barrels were both touching their stocks at the fore end, and the Sako had a spot touching in the middle.

Sako and Anschutz are pretty top end obviously, and still no good.

Are they normally good, or normally need a bit of work?

I'm a bit new to this. Thanks.
loopal
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Floated barrel claims all wrong...

Post by Chronos » 30 Jan 2014, 7:35 pm

out of interest what was your testing procedure? Did you get out the old $100 note and test them? LOL

it's a worry if indeed these rifles had contact between the stock and the barrel

Chronos
Chronos
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

New South Wales

Post by Apollo » 30 Jan 2014, 8:09 pm

Any Rifle can have a floating stock as it is called but some have a pressure point in that a tiny section somewhere down the stock touches the barrel and is used to stabalise the barrel tuning / vibration.

This happens in a lot of lighter contour barrels which you may call hunting/lite weight.

With heavy contour barrels this is not the same case when fully floated means just that and in most cases you can just use a dollar note. Sorry Chronos, you have more money that I do..... Really the gap can be much more than even the corrugated cardboard on a carton.

Calibre, well I don't own any of those you mention but I'm taking it that they are .22LR Rimfire which could be a total different story to a centrefire rifle with a fully floating barrel. Check out what the specifications say.
Apollo
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1