Concern about the gun safe for centre fire gun with scope

Equipment and accessories for shooting. Safes, firearm storage, bipods, carry cases, slings etc.

Concern about the gun safe for centre fire gun with scope

Post by Randy Marsh » 10 Mar 2019, 9:20 pm

First guys please forgive me if it is stupid question to ask.

I am quite new to shooting and planning to buy the first gun, when choosing the safe, I am considering one with 5-7 guns capacity, I look around the internet (like those sold in bunnings), it seems the safe is little bit sallow in depth? Like the inner depth is usually around 230mm, is that enough for a centre fire with scope saying 40 in diameter?

I know it's very likely that the designer of safe has taken that into account, just want to confirm in case I buy one but can not put the gun in.

Thanks in advanced
Randy Marsh
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Concern about the gun safe for centre fire gun with scop

Post by bladeracer » 10 Mar 2019, 9:46 pm

Randy Marsh wrote:First guys please forgive me if it is stupid question to ask.

I am quite new to shooting and planning to buy the first gun, when choosing the safe, I am considering one with 5-7 guns capacity, I look around the internet (like those sold in bunnings), it seems the safe is little bit sallow in depth? Like the inner depth is usually around 230mm, is that enough for a centre fire with scope saying 40 in diameter?

I know it's very likely that the designer of safe has taken that into account, just want to confirm in case I buy one but can not put the gun in.

Thanks in advanced

230mm will take a scoped conventionally-stocked rifle, but you probably won't get a scoped pistol-grip chassis in there without putting it sideways.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by pomemax » 10 Mar 2019, 10:53 pm