Scope and rail for 30/30 94 Winchester advice.

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Scope and rail for 30/30 94 Winchester advice.

Post by FarmerJoe » 07 Sep 2019, 4:52 pm

First post, Thankyou for having me.
I am a farmer with 3 guns in the safe... .22 ,, double barrel shotgun,, 30/30 model 94 Winchester..
I don't do a lot of shooting ,, but I have a question regarding the 30/30 model 94 , (top eject, with semi buckhorn open sights), with the aim of installing a small optic , (scope).

As we know, the top eject does not lend itself to be scoped …
But just recently after googling , I came across , "Dr Pearson No Drill Tactical Rails for Model 94 Winchester".. (Google to see Product).. Shipped to Aus, would be approx. $120 ..

Seems to be an easy install, and a big improvement over the side mounted scope and drilling .
As the old eyes are not what they used to be , it seems to fit the bill if I want to install an optic .
Gun will be used on roo's , and the occasional pig, with ranges of 50 -- 100 meters .

If anyone has used the product and has any advice it would be appreciated ….

Cheers Fellas …...
FarmerJoe
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Scope and rail for 30/30 94 Winchester advice.

Post by Strikey » 08 Sep 2019, 1:07 pm

A scope on a top eject Mod 94 is going to be a pain in the arse, if you are only shooting out to 100m I would recommend looking at fitting either a Williams receiver mounted aperture sight, knock those rear buckhorn sights out as they are and always were useless, this is the best thing I did for my 94 and my eyes aren't the best :thumbsup:
Strikey
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by marksman » 08 Sep 2019, 2:09 pm

I honestly believe you would be better off putting your money into a bolt action and scope :unknown:
dont get me wrong I like the win 94's and have put the old side mount for a scope on one years ago but was not impressed with it