Howa Bravo Long Range Comments/Query's

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Howa Bravo Long Range Comments/Query's

Post by thesoundman000 » 26 Oct 2019, 8:41 pm

Hi all, Newbie here; to the forum and to centerfire/longer range shooting. I've grown up shooting the .22lr a little, used to stretch it out near 200m and ping away at cans and things for fun. Only recently licensed and just received delivery of my rifle. I was chasing something to really push my limits with regards to accuracy at ranges out to 1000m or so (but at a bit of a budget, $2k ish)...

Its the Howa Bravo package topped with MDT rail/rings and a Vortex Diamondback Tactical 6-24x50. It's the long range version so 26in varmint barrel and I've thrown a brake on the end of it. It's currently missing the entire accessory pack thanks to a mix up from the supplier but regardless I've had it out on a Harris bipod to give it a bit of a burl.

I'm reloading my own ammo (new to this also) using the below components selected using the criteria of "whats the cheapest you've got?". It's costing me 58c a shot all costs included.
- ADI once fired's
- CCI Large Rifle Primers
- AR2208 powder (Loaded light)
- Speer 125gr TNT

Not even 100 rounds in and I'm impressed! 3 round groups are averaging a hair over an inch at 200m and they're gradually improving. The last for the day was happily under the inch. Wound out to 600m with a serious crosswind and back several times and the zero hadn't shifted.

Given the 1moa guarantee on match ammunition, these budget rounds I've put together are ridiculously good. By my math I'm approaching 0.5moa and I'm wiggling all over the place (the for-end polymer isn't even attached to the chassis thanks to those missing screws) so the rifles got to be shooting better than that. I'm shocked to say the least at the accuracy of the combination.