Howa .223 sporter and a new shooter

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Howa .223 sporter and a new shooter

Post by davetheaviator » 12 Jan 2020, 2:39 pm

Hi all and thank you in advance ,

I’m new to all this have just got my license and pta and have got myself a howa .223.

Was this a good first choice.?

Any info on the best factory ammo to shoot from this rifle, or what break-in procedures I should do, would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dave
Gone bush flying and hunting.
davetheaviator
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Howa .223 sporter and a new shooter

Post by SCJ429 » 12 Jan 2020, 7:02 pm

Fiocchi make some budget ammo using Hornady Vmax which I have seen shoot well in a couple of Howas. I would run it in by firing a shot and then clean the carbon out, then check to see if you have any copper fowling. If you do, clean it out and fire another shot. Keep doing this until you have little to no copper fowling.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by marksman » 12 Jan 2020, 7:32 pm

l think its a good first choice for sure :thumbsup:

really no-one can tell you what the rifle will like to shoot
you need to buy a couple of boxes of different ammo that you will want to pay for in the future and try them out yourself
the rifle will show you by small groups in what it would prefer to shoot
there are other things that come into play as well eg.. the rest you shoot off, your technic ect but it all comes together in good time
what l would suggest is that if you are going to take advice at the range for example have a look at the person who is giving advices target to see if they can do what they are talking about, usually everyone is friendly but the guys who have very small groups will be concentrating on shooting
good luck with it :drinks:
“If you do not read the newspapers you are uninformed. If you do read the newspapers you are misinformed”. Mark Twain
marksman
Colonel