303-25 and .308 Winchester

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

303-25 and .308 Winchester

Post by barbender » 04 Jun 2020, 8:13 am

Hi All, just an intro as it is my first post, I have been shooting and reloading since I was 13 years old, if the maths works out that was 1969.

1. 303-25 I love this caliber, I have 2 rifles chambered a re-barrelled SMLE and a re barrelled P14. The P14 is a 100 yard tack holer,clover leafing on the target,the SMLE not to far behind 10 to 15 mm. The 6.5 cal is starting to interest me should I upgrade to 6.5 Cal, also any comments on the .25 WSSM, 257 Roberts or even a rechamber to 303-25 Improved for the P14. (I'm not interested in the Creedmore).

2. I recently purchased an old Savage Model 99A in .308 Winchester, the barrel in great condition, I have a Weaver 2.5 to 7 wide view scope to go on, thoughts of this combination as a deer rifle.

Regards to all, let's protect our sport
barbender
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: 303-25 and .308 Winchester

Post by SCJ429 » 04 Jun 2020, 8:20 am

Why mess with a rifle that is shooting well?

I don't think you would be under gunned with a 308 if you were hunting the biggest deer in Australia at reasonable distances.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by in2anity » 04 Jun 2020, 9:01 am