What cartridge to choose for pig hunting in NSW?

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

What cartridge to choose for pig hunting in NSW?

Post by Yogi303 » 26 May 2021, 1:31 pm

Hello to all.
I am new to hunting and need help with deciding on a good calibre for pig hunting in NSW.
I have been looking at the .243, 6.5 x 55, .308 and .303.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Yogi.
Yogi303
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: What cartridge to choose for pig hunting in NSW?

Post by deanp100 » 28 May 2021, 6:50 pm

Mate any of those calibres will be fine. However in my opinion the more important thing is the type of gun compared to the type of country you will be hunting in. I wouldn’t choose a bolt action 6.5 over a lever carbine 308 if the country is thick scrub. If it was open paddocks and cultivation’s the most accurate bolt gun will probably be the top,choice. Do you have these guns already? Calibre wise I would rank them 308, 6.5, 243, 303 in that order factoring in some ease of ammo supply.
For pigs I would take a short quick gun with a low power scope everyday over a longer range outfit as you will find the majority of pigs will be running, fast in thick cover.
deanp100
Corporal
Corporal

Queensland

Post by bladeracer » 28 May 2021, 6:57 pm

Yogi303 wrote:Hello to all.
I am new to hunting and need help with deciding on a good calibre for pig hunting in NSW.
Thanks.
Yogi.

.303's tend to be quite heavy and long, I would look at something lighter and shorter, unless you're shooting from a vehicle.
Lever-action carbines in .30-30 or .44 Magnum would also be good if you're in heavy bush, or even a gun with slugs or heavy buck.
If you're sniping them at longer distances I'd look at a scoped 7mm-08 or .308.
6.5x55mm is a terrific all-round cartridge.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by Oldbloke » 28 May 2021, 7:18 pm