Question for the Tikka T3x owners

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Question for the Tikka T3x owners

Post by Kurnal » 17 Jul 2021, 9:34 am

Going to pick up a T3x in .308 for 2-3 day trekking hunting trips in reasonably rugged terrain.

I am not very experienced and there are so many options. I am having trouble deciding on the best model. Basically looking at:

T3x Hunter
T3x Lite Stainless

Weights are very similar. Am I going to notice much difference between them in accuracy ?

Other than timber stock v laminate stock, is there any discernible difference ?
CZ 455 .22LR Vixen 4-16 x 44
Ligthgow LA102 .223 Optika5 3-15 x 44
Tikka T3x Lite Stainless .308 Leupold Vx3i 4.5-14 x 40
Kurnal
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Question for the Tikka T3x owners

Post by SCJ429 » 17 Jul 2021, 10:22 am

Is the Hunter Chromoly and the Lite Stainless Steel? What does the Tikka website tell you?

The action, trigger and bolt are the same if that is what you are asking.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by SCJ429 » 17 Jul 2021, 10:24 am

They will both have the same accuracy potential, and are known for the good results they can produce.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by MontyShooter » 17 Jul 2021, 11:34 am

Same rifle in a different stock I think.
Personally I’d go for a tupperware stock if you're going to drag it through the mountains.
MontyShooter
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Post by ZaineB » 17 Jul 2021, 1:52 pm

I'd have no fear using either, even the most common complaint for tikka rifles (magazine length/short standard 'Saami') as if you are deer or chamois or whatever else whether here or across the pond, you could always single load those big sexy monolithic high bc rounds.