service rifle

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

service rifle

Post by northdude » 01 Sep 2021, 7:27 am

Any of you guys do service rifle shooting. I have been doing it for a few years now and seem to have picked it up quite easily. Im using a swede m38...also got a no3 and a no4 but the swede is streets ahead of the other 2
22 hornets and most things 6.5
northdude
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

New Zealand

Re: service rifle

Post by in2anity » 01 Sep 2021, 12:03 pm

Yes mate. I shoot it weekly out of ANZAC, Sydney (when we aren't in these damned lockdowns). SR, then TR on the fullbore/longs range is my bread-and-butter. I don't have a Swede, but they are a solid competitor - known for their accuracy. A few master Graders use them, and swear by them. Conveniently we are allowed rear peep sights in our club, like the classic Central. m1907 slings are also allowed, and SR jackets with <= 10mm padding, like a USMC jacket. These three things go a long way toward shooting possibles.

I am currently competing with a m1895-308w Mauser carbine for the 100m standing matches, then a No4-223 conversion for 200m sitting and 300m prone. My No4-223 gets a run on the fullbore range sometimes, for fun. It's a true sub-moa rifle and can bring home a 50+ easily in an 300m application match, if I'm doing my part and reading the wind correctly. It can go close to a possible at 500m, but requires insane concentration at 5/600m.

Are you as-issued only at your club? Or are the rules a little more liberal?
Last edited by in2anity on 01 Sep 2021, 3:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.
At what point does lack of maintenance become patina?
in2anity
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by northdude » 01 Sep 2021, 12:10 pm