Howa mini vs SA questions

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Howa mini vs SA questions

Post by AHobson87 » 25 Jan 2022, 9:26 am

Hey guys n girls. I'm new to shooting and looking at getting my first rifle but I have some questions I'm hoping you all could help me with.
I'm decided on a Howa 1500 in 223 but I'm unsure which the best option is. The mini action seems like good value with the already detachable mag but is the mini action any different to the short action? If you got both in a 20 inch barrel would they perform any different? What would be the benefit of getting the short action (over the mini action) and installing a mag kit?
Also on the barrel length, you can get the mini action in a 16.25 inch barrel. What are the pros and cons comparing it to a 20inch barrel? Is the shorter barrel less accurate?
I will most likely be hunting foxes and bunnies and maybe shooting some target for fun.

Thanks for any help :)

Andrew
AHobson87
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria

Re: Howa mini vs SA questions

Post by Oldbloke » 26 Jan 2022, 11:03 am

Go the 20". The 20" barrel will give higher velocity.
The greatest invention in the history of man is beer.
https://youtu.be/2v3QrUvYj-Y
Member. SFFP, Shooters Union.
SSAA, the powerful gun lobby. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Hunt safe.
Oldbloke
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by bigpete » 26 Jan 2022, 12:50 pm

Oldbloke wrote:Go the 20". The 20" barrel will give higher velocity.

And be better on the ears
bigpete
Colonel
Colonel

South Australia

Post by Oldbloke » 26 Jan 2022, 12:57 pm

bigpete wrote:
Oldbloke wrote:Go the 20". The 20" barrel will give higher velocity.

And be better on the ears

:thumbsup:
Hunt safe.
Oldbloke
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by Communism_Is_Cancer » 26 Jan 2022, 1:20 pm

Walking through the scrub taking short shots short barrel good. Shooting fixed targets longer barrel good. 16 inch is that good middle ground.