.223 bolt rifle reccomendations?

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

.223 bolt rifle reccomendations?

Post by GreenNeck » 07 Jan 2024, 7:37 pm

So I'm currently in the market for a bolt 223. I'll be using it for mostly target/varmint shooting with the occasional hunting trip.
I'd like well made, robust rifle that feels solid to hold.
I prefer laminate/synthetic for durability and don't really have a budget in mind but nothing stupid $$ wise.

Thanks in advance for your knowledge and reccomendations, I'm new to the sport and the community has been nothing but friendly and welcoming!
GreenNeck
Recruit
Recruit

South Australia

Re: .223 bolt rifle reccomendations?

Post by bladeracer » 07 Jan 2024, 8:12 pm

GreenNeck wrote:So I'm currently in the market for a bolt 223. I'll be using it for mostly target/varmint shooting with the occasional hunting trip.
I prefer laminate/synthetic for durability and don't really have a budget in mind but nothing stupid $$ wise.

Thanks in advance for your knowledge and recomendations, I'm new to the sport and the community has been nothing but friendly and welcoming!

Have you looked at the Ruger American Predator? They just released a Gen2 model but I don't know if we'll see that here for a while.
Practice Strict Gun Control - Precision Counts!
bladeracer
Field Marshal
Field Marshal

Victoria

Post by in2anity » 07 Jan 2024, 8:24 pm

I rate the Tikka super varmint for the adjustable comb on top of a great barrel, action and trigger. There’s a very good chance it’ll be an absolute tack driver on the range.
At what point does lack of maintenance become patina?
in2anity
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by Blr243 » 07 Jan 2024, 10:56 pm

Heavy barrell I think instead of sporter profile
Blr243
Major General
Major General

Queensland

Post by flashman » 08 Jan 2024, 9:25 am

Yes my vote for the Tikka...................... :thumbsup:
flashman