new shooter. need help

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

new shooter. need help

Post by halfcocked » 01 May 2016, 3:46 pm

first post here, I'm new to shooting and i have lots of questions. I'm hoping to get some answers from experienced shooters and put me on the right track.

my experience is few clay target sessions with a shotgun and few air rifle (springer)sessions. I'm not really good.

my plan is to become a really accurate shot and maybe get into rifle target competitions and also hunt pests on crown land.

so what is my best bet to get ALOT of practice in to become a half decent shot? i planned on getting a really quiet air rifle and hit paper targets without upsetting the neighbours, but I'm told they're as loud as a subsonic .22 these days. they weren't back when i used them. can anyone recommend a quiet air rifle?

going to a range. can i practice there? any near northern suburbs melb? cost?
"sighting in" in a state forest? 100-300 shots wheres a good place id get away with that without disturbing anyone? and use what as a target?

choosing a rifle. if i learn from you guys how to properly care and clean it i think i should go a decent rifle rather than cheap and nasty. i was thinking cz455 with 3 interchangeable barrels. .22 subsonic for practice (low cost &noise) and 17hmr when I'm ready to hit some bunnies out to 150m. id like a scope too but i know nothing about them other than the ones on the cheaper combos are rubbish?
what other must haves are there? cleaning, oiling, bipod,gun bag?

gun safe. was thinking a 20 gun safe from a warehouse in epping. around $375. room for relatives guns etc.

transporting firearms. i have a 4wd ute with arb lockable canopy. glove box isn't very big. does/should rifle be in a metal lockable toolbox in canopy? what about ammo?

i know i ask a lot of naive questions but id appreciate any pointers. tia.
halfcocked
Recruit
Recruit

Victoria