Barrel Break in???

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

Barrel Break in???

Post by Hammo8090 » 29 Jun 2016, 9:02 am

Hi Guys,

First post here & I am new to the sport of shooting. I have recently purchased a Howa Mini Action .223 & a .22LR which I'll be using for the first time in 2 weeks but wanted to know if I need to follow any barrel break in procedures for either rifle. There seems to be mixed info on the net & I have asked a couple of shooters I know & they said no need to.

Any advice would be great.
Hammo8090
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Barrel Break in???

Post by chrispy88 » 29 Jun 2016, 2:18 pm

Bit of a controversial one but my view is it doesn't hurt so why not do it.

Different blokes will have different ways of doing it but mine is (for centrefires) : clean it thoroughly before first firing as the manufacturers put a ****** of grease in the bore to protect it; fire 3 shots; clean again; fire 5 shots; clean again and then go for your life.

I believe not so critical in rimfires but again there will be those that disagree.
Tikka T3 Lite SS .308 / VXII 3-9x40
Howa HB SS .223 / Viper PST 4-16x50
Savage Mk II BTVS .22LR / VXI 3-9x40
Lithgow Model 1 .22LR
Miroku MK10 Sporter 12g
W. W. Greener Martini action 12g
chrispy88
Private
Private

New South Wales

Post by southwest shooter » 29 Jun 2016, 2:56 pm

Clean it then shoot , breaking in is a waste of time and ammo !
southwest shooter
Corporal
Corporal

Victoria

Post by on_one_wheel » 29 Jun 2016, 3:27 pm

This is one of those topics that raises plenty of health debate.

For the .22lr I'd say no.
They don't suffer from fouling and the wax on the projectiles help to lubricate, clean and preserve the barrel .
Justgive the .22lr one initial clean and just focus on the exterior and bolt from then on.
It's been said that more .22 rifles have been worn out from cleaning than shooting.