223 all rounder help

Bolt action rifles, lever action, pump action, self loading rifles and other miscellaneous longarms.

223 all rounder help

Post by Ugly duckling » 10 Apr 2017, 10:18 pm

My budget is $2k, friendly shooting targets, scrub/stalking, spot lighting. Factory ammo only. I have no experience in hunting and will be taken out by an extended family member.
I am on a budget and that's why I've chosen the .223.
i have 4 rifles with big differences between them all, im looking for the best all rounder IN YOUR OPINION, i will put prices at the end of each rifle to help also.
•Howa 1500, MDT hs3 chasis, 20" threaded blued barrel 1:9 twist, 10 shot MDT mag, magpul grip, vltor imod rifle stock, PWS fsc muzzle break, PWS enhanced buffer tube, swivel bipod, Bushnell AR optic drop zone 223
$1850
•Tikka T3X lite blued 20" blued barrel 1:8 twist, GRS berserker stock, swivel bipod, bushnell AR optic drop zone 223
$2080
•Tikka T3X varmint blued 1:8 twist, lucky 13 tactical bolt handle, swivel bipod, Bushnell AR optic drop zone 223
$1850
•Steyr pro hunter, swivel bipod, cerakote barrel/action, Bushnell AR optic drop zone 223
$1875
Dont forget i am on a budget and this will be my only centre fire for a long time ;)

The extended family member has alot of rifles to use if i want to take bigger game also.
Ugly duckling
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: 223 all rounder help

Post by Gwion » 11 Apr 2017, 8:14 am

Steyer looks ok but I'd be going for a Howa Mini action. Proven by many to preform with OSA factory ammo. Put a Voetex hts on it, $100 for some rings and you'll still come out cheaper than $1800. Save up over time if you really want a new stock for it.
Gwion
Colonel
Colonel

-

Post by Gwion » 11 Apr 2017, 8:24 am

Howa mini varmint 223 'the barn' $750
Vortex Hts 4-16x50 $870 'scoped out'
Rings$50-150.....
Under $1800.

Bored waiting for a plane...
Gwion
Colonel
Colonel

-

Post by bladeracer » 11 Apr 2017, 8:27 am