Brass cleaning and depriming help

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Brass cleaning and depriming help

Post by Chief2744 » 20 Nov 2018, 1:22 pm

Hi all,

I am finally ready to start reloading after getting all the bits and pieces but I am not sure about a couple of things

Is it better to deprime before wet tumbling?

If I do will it wreck my depriming and resizing die?

If I wet tumble first will it have any adverse effects when depriming?

I will be reloading 9mm and am using hornaby carbide dies.

Thanks to all in advance, sorry if these questions appear to be daft.

Cheers Neil
Chief2744
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Brass cleaning and depriming help

Post by Gaznazdiak » 20 Nov 2018, 3:18 pm

G'day Neil, welcome to the world of OCD that is reloading.

I'm no expert mate, and only reload for rifle, but I would definitely say, yes deprime and give the primer pocket a hit with the pocket cleaning tool before cleaning.

If I'm wrong, someone please set us both straight.
:drinks:
fideles usque ad mortem
Gaznazdiak
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

New South Wales

Post by Sergeant Hartman » 20 Nov 2018, 5:14 pm

Ya mate esp if you wet tumbling then deprime first. I do ultrasonic and once to just tru I didn't deprime the cars came out looking crap cuz or all the gunk from primers.

Maybe its for looks more so than function, I am unsure
Sergeant Hartman
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Victoria

Post by bigfellascott » 20 Nov 2018, 6:16 pm

Always deprime before cleaning brass in anything or you will have lovely dirty primer pockets which will need to be cleaned out anyway so might as well do it all in one hit.
bigfellascott
Lieutenant General
Lieutenant General

-

Post by HereSkip » 20 Nov 2018, 6:36 pm

Deprime then clean
"To achieve greatness you first must dream it." - Me, just then
HereSkip
Recruit
Recruit

Tasmania

Post by Kelsey Cooter » 20 Nov 2018, 8:29 pm