Projectile advice

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Projectile advice

Post by TassieTiger » 23 Nov 2018, 1:43 am

Kind gents (brings up another subject - do any women visit this forum), I have been reloading for approximately 6 months. Ow and enjoy all aspects...
My query for those with more experience is - is the weight of the projectile, the main factor when reloading for consistency?
Example - I have a really good load worked up using 120gn noslers. I also have an unopened box of VMAX 120’s - are they likely to work just as well given their the same weight ? Or is projectile design a huge factor - outside of the ballistic top vs hunting tip? My range is some drive away and I don’t reslly want to load up 100 vmax without testing but I’ve just run out of noslers and have a shoot coming up...?
Tikka .260 (Z5 5x25/52)
Steyr Pro Varmint .223 - VX 3
CZ455 .22 & Norinco .22 (vtex 4-12, bush 3-9)
ATA 686 U/O 12g & Baikal S/S 12g.
Adler a110 reddot
Sauer 30-06 - VX 3
Howa 300 win mag. SHV 5-20/56
Marlin SBL 45/70
TassieTiger
Colonel
Colonel

Tasmania

Re: Projectile advice

Post by Sergeant Hartman » 23 Nov 2018, 4:36 am

Each brand of projectile and then every different model of the brand, and weight is different. Some ppl are pedantic and still even tweak in different batches of projectiles and powder
Sergeant Hartman
Sergeant Major
Sergeant Major

Victoria

Post by TassieTiger » 23 Nov 2018, 5:27 am

So a 120gn ballistic tip from nosler is not going to perform the same as a 120gn ballistic tip from hornady...?

Bugger...that’s a lot of testing to be done.
Tikka .260 (Z5 5x25/52)
Adler a110 reddot
Sauer 30-06 - VX 3
Marlin SBL 45/70
TassieTiger
Colonel
Colonel

Tasmania

Post by SCJ429 » 23 Nov 2018, 6:15 am