Reloading cases for a mosin nagant

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Reloading cases for a mosin nagant

Post by Dirtdart89 » 26 Jan 2014, 2:05 pm

I'm new to the reloading scene, can someone help me out with tips to make my mosin nagant more accurate and recommend powders, projectiles etc?
Outnumbered? More like target rich environment.
7.62mm
Dirtdart89
Private
Private

Queensland

Re: Reloading cases for a mosin nagant

Post by yoshie » 26 Jan 2014, 4:19 pm

What bullets are you using?
yoshie
Sergeant
Sergeant

Australian Capital Territory

Post by Dirtdart89 » 26 Jan 2014, 5:42 pm

None yet, the nagant is my first rifle and I'm not too keen on using the corrosive stuff as I'd like to keep it as mint as possible. And I will be taking it on some long trips where it might go a few days without proper cleaning.
7.62mm
Dirtdart89
Private
Private

Queensland

Post by Chronos » 26 Jan 2014, 8:11 pm

"so you've decided to reload"

LOL, that's probably how lot's of those reloading books and vids start, you're first step may be too buy a good reloading manual and start goggleing

your first steps will be to start collecting components,

cases-you can buy new brass however most reloaders start out with brass cases they have collected from their own factory loads
bullets-this can depend on what kind of shooting you want to do, target, hunting etc then choose an appropriate weight and construction
primers and powder-this is where your reloading manual comes in, primers are easy, finding the best powder takes experience, follow advice that others can offer

now you need some hardware, some basic measuring gear, a press, reloading dies, powder handling gear, thrower, scales etc

then how accurate your rifle shoots comes down to you. experimentation (within safe limits) is the key to finding a good load for your rifle

be safe and have fun

Chronos

PS: heres a link to a page i found when i first started reloading