Reloading Hornady 223 TAP Urban brass

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Reloading Hornady 223 TAP Urban brass

Post by jeroxde » 08 May 2019, 8:39 am

G'day guys,

I have just gotten my reloading started and I am still a novice at it.
I have once fired 223 Hornady TAP Urban brass that I am trying to reprime.
I have had a few that got primed with no issues but now they are problematic to seat primers.
I am very new at this so I can't tell if the primer pocket is crimped or not by just looking at it.
I have tried searching online and have been seeing conflicting info on if it is crimped or not.
Has anyone tried reloading the TAP brass and run into the same issues? Are the primer pockets crimped or not?
Any help and information on this is greatly appreciated.
Thank you.
jeroxde
Recruit
Recruit

New South Wales

Re: Reloading Hornady 223 TAP Urban brass

Post by Apollo » 08 May 2019, 9:15 am

Hornady state they are "staked" primers....ie crimped and you will need to remove the crimp.

http://www.hornadyle.com/products/rifle ... -tap-urban

You can see this in their own photo of the primer pocket.
Apollo
Warrant Officer C1
Warrant Officer C1

New South Wales

Post by SCJ429 » 08 May 2019, 9:38 am

You can get a tool to remove the primer crimp however Hornady brass is nothing to write home about. You might be better off getting another brand that does not have a crimp. You can get once fired ADI brass that shoots very well. I pick it up off the ground every time I visit the range.
SCJ429
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

New South Wales

Post by JimTom » 08 May 2019, 10:11 am

.223 brass is relatively inexpensive. Do yourself a favour and buy some new ADI brass or if the budget doesn’t extend that far, get some Winchester. I am currently reloading .223 with Winchester brass and whilst it requires a little more prep and perhaps won’t have the longevity of ADI brass, it reloads and shoots just fine.
JimTom
Second Lieutenant