9 mm reloading oddysey - NEED HELP!

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

9 mm reloading oddysey - NEED HELP!

Post by fenderstrat » 02 Sep 2019, 8:14 pm

Hi guys, I've been reloading rifle cartridges for a few years, never had any real issues. I finally started to reload 9mm for my Colt government 1911 in 9mm. So I got some Hawksbury river bullets, 9mm, 115 gn round nose. I used a single stage Hornady press and the Lee carbide 4 die set. When I sized the cases, I removed the barrel off the pistol and used it basically as a gauge. The newly sized cases fitted fine, and would drop out of the barrel when I tipped it upside down. I then primed, powdered, seated the bullets, then used the factory crimp die (following the instructions that came with the dies). The cases seemed a little bulged, and when I tried dropping some completed rounds into my barrel, they seemed to barely chamber, and would not fall off when I tipped the barrel upside down (factory rounds did). I wasn't too sure on what to do then, and I wasn't keen on trying to chamber live ammo at home, so I just waited until I could go to the range to test out my loads.
When I went to the range, I wasn't sure if the pistol was chambering properly. When I tried to extract the rounds, it took quite a bit of force to get the slide back. I did not try to fire off any rounds, just to be safe.
Went back home, and did some measuring. The Hawksbury bullets measured .356.5". I thought that the Hawsbury bullets might be a little bit too big, so I ran them through a lee bullet sizing die, and they came out measuring .356. I did some dummy rounds with empty cases and the new resized bullets, but they still would not chamber. I pulled factory round (geco 124 gn FMJ) and that measured .354.5". Made a dummy round with that and that chambered fine.