Shooting help/coach wanted in Sunbury area

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Shooting help/coach wanted in Sunbury area

Post by Wodez » 11 Jan 2020, 9:51 pm

Gday
I am a self taught reloader and shooter. I have been reloading for 8 years and hunting/shooting for 15.
I’m after some help with some range time to get the most out of my rifles and help eliminate human error to my groups. I have access to 3 properties within 10 minutes of sunbury Victoria. I was hoping someone with I high level of knowledge and skill would be interested to meet me for some range time to teach me a thing or 2. In return you can bring your own rifles and do your own range time for the day. It may even be handy to put me behind a tack driver if you have one... to see how I go with a proven rifle. As well as getting a proven shooter behind my rifles.

It seems my Sako 85 243 and sako a7 300wm can shoot exceptable .5moa groups one day and then 2moa the next day. All rifles I have had over the years are the same. Good days and bad days.
I know there are veritables from day to day that could effect poi. But it seems I am constantly adjusting scopes on rim fires 1 or 2 moa... or I can shoot .8moa with a center fire then 10 minutes later shoot 1.5moa.
And I have some questions on the reloading side of things. Like I recently changed brass for the 243 to new Peterson brass. I did a ladder test and found a good group at max load. I confirmed with 3 more shots. I had 6 shots at .7 moa. I then loaded some more using the once fired cases I just shot, and found them to be wider in every direction...2moa
I full length sized some brass and Tested volume of new vs once fired(3 of each). The once fired was 1gr above the new.
Should I try a little over max load to compensate for the larger volume?
And more to the point... why does full length sized brass have a different case capacity new vs once fired.
Dies are all the way down, I’m not just bumping the shoulder.