Depriming 9mm before sonic cleaning??

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Depriming 9mm before sonic cleaning??

Post by Macross » 07 Oct 2020, 11:41 pm

Im wondering if there is a better way to prep my 9mm cases. Currently I pull the powder measure off my Dillon square deal and run the cases through it to deprime them.... letting the case pass through the 4 stages and fall into the bin at the end. I take the deprimed cases then and run them through a sonic cleaner.

I am starting to wonder if it might be better to grab a cheap press just for depriming rather than running dirty cases through the square deal. Or am i just wasting time depriming before sonic cleaning?
Macross
Lance Corporal
Lance Corporal

Queensland

Re: Depriming 9mm before sonic cleaning??

Post by rc42 » 08 Oct 2020, 12:29 am

I'm new to reloading but all my cases have been deprimed before the ultra sonic cleaner, there's quite a lot of residue under the primer that I don't like the look of as it could prevent the new primer from fully seating or partially block the hole through to the powder.

I use a bottom of the range Lee single stage press but it's very fast for depriming and resizing the cases before they go in the cleaner, once cleaned they get dried and stored till I'm ready to load them.

I've heard that some people don't bother with any case cleaning and they seem to manage OK, although those rounds are probably just for range practice or plinking.
rc42
Staff Sergeant
Staff Sergeant

Queensland

Post by wanneroo » 08 Oct 2020, 1:05 am

Myself I like to deprime everything so I get clean primer pockets and I don't make a mess on the press depriming.