Ditching the powder dispenser

Reloading equipment, methods, load data, powder and projectile information.

Ditching the powder dispenser

Post by JimTom » 12 Mar 2021, 2:49 pm

I have been using a RCBS electronic powder dispenser for several years with good results. Decided yesterday to give my old powder thrower another run since it is still mounted on my reloading bench. I had forgotten how quick and accurate it was. I was still check weighing every load and only had 1/50 that wasn’t exact. It was 0.1gn under, which could have also been a scale error however was more than likely due to the hopper being depleted. When the hopper is full Accuracy was great especially with finer powders like BM8208 and AR2206H. Not sure I will go back to the fancy electronic dispenser. Anyone else have a preference for using either?
JimTom
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Queensland

Re: Ditching the powder dispenser

Post by No1Mk3 » 12 Mar 2021, 4:18 pm

G'day JimTom,
I use the thrower in a progressive press set-up for bulk ammo making, and the electronic for small batch specialty ammo. For top grade target ammo I still use a dipper, trickler and balance beam to load, Cheers.
No1Mk3
Second Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant

Victoria

Post by Blr243 » 12 Mar 2021, 5:15 pm

I , for a while Back during loading development used a hornady electric dispenser but it’s slower than an old horse standing under a tree on a hot day .... so now it’s the cheap lee thrower that’s super accurate and fast as I hate reloading
Blr243
Brigadier
Brigadier

Queensland

Post by Bugman » 12 Mar 2021, 5:29 pm

Had a thought, a while back, to investing in an electronic powder thrower, and am glad I didn't. I have a Redding powder thrower that, if kept clean etc, will throw a very consistent load regularly. Still check every 10 pistol load with a RCBS 10/10 scale, and that item performs very accurately too. The only other thrower I use is the one installed in my Dillon press and that too is consistent.